(304) 257-1844

By: Potomac State College

If your dream season must come to an end, what better place than to have it come to conclusion than in Alabama at the NCJAA World Series.

With a 4-0 loss to Triton College on May 27, its second loss of the World Series, Potomac State concluded an incredible season with an incredible overall record of 41-4.

Due to rain delays and cancellations, that second World Series game didn’t happen for three days after the Lady Catamounts nearly shocked the nation by almost upsetting the number one seed and top-ranked team in the country, Des Moines Area. Des Moines won that game 6-5.

 Mens Muzzleloader Winners

1st - Terry Mulligan

2nd - Issaac Phillips

3rd - Tim Plum


 Womens Muzzleloader Winners

1st - Bethany Clayton

2nd - Beckie Warner

The 2022 Potomac Valley Conference, Division Two, baseball awards:

First team - Johnathan Mallow, (Petersburg High School), Slade Saville (PHS), William Van Meter (PHS), Nathanial Travis (PHS), Mason Kisamore, Tucker Co., Matthew Pratt (Tygarts Valley), Garrett Gibson (Tygarts Valley), Dawson Price (East Hardy), Noah Sager (East Hardy), Clayton Kisamore (Pendleton Co.) and Kaden More (Tygarts Valley).

Coach of the Year - Mike Landis (PHS)

Player of the Year - Mason Kisamore

Second team - Clay Arbaugh (PHS), Riley Tackett (Tygarts Valley), Brandon Mahoney (Tygarts Valley), Noah Armstrong (Tygarts Valley), Justin Robeson (Tuckery Co.), Harper Russell (Tucker Co.), David Gibb (Pocahontas Co.), Ben Dunz (Pocahontas Co.), Jamie Vandevendar (Pocahontas Co.), Josey Armstrong (Pocahontas Co.).

Game One

Petersburg vs. St. Marys

5-3 (Win)

The Lady Vikings started their state tournament competition in-style, grabbing a win over St. Marys High School out of Pleasants County.

St. Marys picked up an early score in the first inning but a solid third inning from the Lady Vikings stopped the team in their tracks, piling four runs onto the scoreboard and ensuring their spot against returning champs, Wahama.

Editor - Camille Howard;
News Editor - Erin Camp;
Advertising Manager - Tara Warner Pratt; 
Print Shop Manager - Richard Knight; 
Bookkeeping - Peggy Hughes;
Circulation - Mary Simmons

© 2017-2022 Grant County Press

Go to top